Skip navigation

Just finished another video for DGA, the company that created the Livespeakr. The video features various apps and how they would benefit from being used with the Livespeakr.

You can watch it here.

The white background is just curved poster paper and the lighting is all natural daylight. At first I tried buying some lights and making my own soft boxes out of mailing packages and bed sheets but when I turned the lights on…they didn’t look so good.

Editing was a little painful as in the raw footage the product moves from clip to clip a few millimeters from side to side. To fix this I used still images of the product instead and just used a four point garbage matte to essentially make a mask through which the screen of the iPod would show.

For the first few shots with the hand I used this technique but for the hand itself, I had to open my trial of After Effects CS5 and learn how to use the roto brush to essentially but the hand on its own separate video and composite it later in Final Cut Pro.

For audio, absolutely everything is not real. I and Christian Lim from Valhalla High School’s Mac Lab, sorted through Sound Track Pro’s library of royalty free samples for hours and hours, and when we couldn’t find what we wanted there, we either made the noise ourselves (I’ll get into that in a second) or we scoured the internet for more royalty free samples.

I could not for the life of me find the sound of an engine accelerating for a prolonged amount of time, so I made my own sound. I opened up Reason 4.0 and setup a couple of synths, added distortion, steadily increased the pitch bend and presto – you get an engine. That reminds me, I forgot to mention that in the shot where I use this (the racing game), I added some wobble and radial blur in After Effects – that’s why it looks that way.

The project itself is a part of the CSUSM Senior Experience Project, a team of business students was paired with DGA for the purpose of contributing to the company as well as gaining real-world business experience. The team and the company commissioned me to create an “ad” that the students conceived.

3 Comments

  1. The ad looks great! Wonderful job!

  2. Brilliant!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] I originally intended on be a part of the actual recording and work on post-production, but I had family business I had to attend to on the day of the video recording.  So unfortunately all that was left was audio work.  I went to Steven’s house and basically looked for audio, put audio in, and got a better look at understanding how making a video worked.  It was actually pretty interesting.  No need to restate everything, the full story is at his blog. […]

Leave a Reply

