Skip navigation

Here I will be documenting my media/art related work including video commissions, photo commissions, etc. as well as the remaining six months I have to pass on the knowledge and skills I’ve acquired to the students in Mike Skocko’s [pronounced Skoch-Ko] Mac Lab at Valhalla High School.


What’s Happening Now:

  1. Applying to film schools (USC, UCLA, Chapman, LMU).
  2. Putting a DVD together of a local middle school band performance for parents (will be teaching high school students Final Cut for this project).
  3. Planning a special effects project (deciding between camera mapping, rotoscoping, etc) for high school students – should be fun.



What’s Just Happened:

  1. A music video I did with Adam Lee won its second award this past December after being accepted into its third festival.
  2. December 17th marked the completion of my first project with the high school students. I was commissioned by DGA to take photos of their product the Livespeakr (yes that’s spelled correctly). With DGA’s approval I took the job opportunity to give Skocko’s students a taste of the professional photo world. It took six students in all – four for taking pictures, and two for photoshopping them. Being there to teach every each step of the process was a bit hectic because it was finals week but regardless the company was thrilled with the results which, I should add, will be used to advertise their product on amazon. Here are some samples A, B, C, D.



High School Students From Mac Lab + 1 College Student = Professional Media Team

I have a little history with the guys at DGA. This past summer I did some product photos with a friend that ended up on their new package design for the Livespeakr (which has been submitted to this competition) and soon after I did a web commercial for them (which is now featured on their homepage for the Livespeakr as well as on Amazon).

I think this makes for a lengthy first post.

I will write more as it all unfolds.

3 Comments

  1. The adventure begins. One day you’ll trace it all back to this post. Congrats, Steven.

    Now change the bloody template! 😉

  2. Well done!

  3. Skocko’s been braggin’ and after just watching your A Dull Science video I can see why. I am just proud to say I know you.


Leave a Reply

